Save big on select M-TAC, Fullfield TAC 30, and Predator Quest Scopes! Hurry, available while supplies last. 

MSR Riflescope 3-9x40mm

The 3-9x40mm MSR riflescope is a classic, time-honored size, and still the most popular size for hunting scopes. Perfect for hunting with your modern sporting rifle, and great for pushing your target range out to the distant targets.

Suggested Retail Price: $239

Compatible Reticles

Ballistic Plex™
Simple, highly effective compensating reticle

Available On: MSR
Learn More

Specifications

Item Number
Description
Reticles
Kit
Color
Knob Style
Illumination
Magnification
Objective Lens Diameter
Clear Objective Lens Diameter
Ocular Lens Diameter
Focal Plane
Main Tube Size
Field of View
Eye Relief
Exit Pupil
Click Value
Elevation Adjustment, Total Capability
Windage Adjustment
Parallax/Focus
Adjustable Parallax
Finish
Length
Weight
Illumination Control
Illumination Settings
Battery
200137
Calibrated for .223
Ballistic Plex™
no
Matte Black
Exposed elevation
no
3-9x
48 mm
40 mm
39 mm
RFP
1 in.
33 low – 13 high (ft. @ 100 yds.)
3.1 – 3.8 in.
13 low - 5 high (mm)
1/4 MOA
52 MOA
52 MOA
None
None
Matte
12.2 in.
13.0 oz.
none
MSR Riflescopes
  • Designed for shooters new to tactical rifles, who are ready for an affordable custom tactical riflescope
  • Features the Ballistic Plex™ reticle, the most simple, effective, and elegant trajectory-compensating reticle for hunting 
  • Long-range accuracy in a simple design that’s easy to use
  • Can be matched with any caliber or bullet weight
  • Finger-adjustable, low-profile turrets create a sleek profile
  • Turret indications always reflect a change in the point of impact, for pinpoint accuracy
  • Separate power ring and eyepiece design accepts flip-up lens covers
  • High-grade optical glass provides excellent brightness and clarity with lasting durability
  • Quality, precision-ground lenses are larger than those of comparable scopes, for better light transmission
  • Index-matched, Hi-Lume® multicoating aids in low-light performance and glare elimination, increasing your success rate
  • Double internal spring-tension system allows the scope to hold zero through shock, recoil, and vibrations
  • Precision-gauged and hand-fitted internal assemblies maintain a consistent point of impact regardless of shock and vibration; hold true throughout the magnification range
  • Positive steel-on-steel adjustments ensure repeatable accuracy
  • Waterproof
  • Nitrogen-filled scope tubes prevent internal fogging even in cold and rain
  • Durable, stress-free, solid 1-piece outer tube withstands shock and vibrations of even the heaviest-recoiling calibers
  • 1-in. body tube
  • Guaranteed by the Burris Forever Warranty™ 
  • Focus is set at 50 yds. and Ballistic Plex reticle is calibrated for .22 LR (200136 only)
  • Ballistic Plex reticle is calibrated for .223 for greater accuracy with popular tactical ammunition (200137 only)
Name
MSR Manual
Type
 PDF
Modified
October 29, 2015
 
Name
2019 Burris Optics Catalog
Type
 PDF
Modified
January 3, 2019
 
MSR Riflescope 3-9x40mm is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Excellent optics and easy eye relief. Woks great on arpepr mount.
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Burris, top quality, lifetime warranty Bought this MSR 22 to drop on a new A-17 Savage 17 HMR. Needed the 50 yd focus for the 17 and will figure the drop on the range finder dots when I get to the range. Scope dropped on the rifle beautifully with Burris Medium Zee Rings. Nice compact, scope was needed for the semi auto 17 with its light barrel. Handles beautifully and shoots a dime at 50 yds. Anxious to get it on the bench for some testing on the range reticule. Very satisfied with setup. Thank you Burris and Savage.
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MSR 223 For the money, it is a great scope with a superior warranty. Extremely clear glass at multiple distances and conditions. The magnification was sufficient to shoot inside one inch at 250 yds from a bench. The only negative; the turret adjustments. By virtue of the fact the elevation is a cap over cap, the clicks are not crisp, but rather rubbery. The windage set to zero adjustment is a bit frustrating, it would be better if the cap over was made available for it as well as setting it to zero is easy. The elevation tracks well. As a hand loader I primarily adjust elevation rather than using the bullet drop compensator. The zero returns every time when I crank between distances and loads even in horrid weather conditions.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great glass, adjustments and finish! Bought two of these; one for my AR-15 and another for my LR-308. Both quickly dialed into zero which hasn't changed yet. Adjustments track well! Optics are super clear and bright.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crystal clear So far so good. Bought the msr 4.5-14×. Love the positive turrets. Havent shot yet but its mounted and zeroed on an ar15. Definitely a quality optic for the money. Got mine for $235. Love the reticle for its clarity and simplicity. Hopefully I will be out shooting soon and I can further my review. Would recommend this optic to anyone.....
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made and precise I just bought this and have only used it once, but was impressed. The optics are sharp and the adjustments very positive and precise. It seems very solidly made. I haven't tried it at ranges longer than 100 yards, but at 100 yards when I moved the point of aim to the longer range crosshairs it raised the point of aim by the amount I would have predicted based on the trajectory of the bullet I was using.
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Scope looks awesom mounted on my AR15! The lens are perfectly clear, I thought I could never afford a Burris Scope... Price was great! Also used the Burris mount system... I'm glad I bought this scope and would recommend to anyone that's in the market to check this one out! I'm sure you will feel the same....
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth it i was given a brand new msr 3x9 as a gift from my cousin. very clear glass. i was hitting 24"x24" plates at 800m all weekend long with this. easy to sight in. holds zero very well.
Date published: 2015-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Glass is OK, tube is not so OK. Mounted this scope on my rifle and torqued the Leupold steel rings to spec. 28lbs. And it bent the tube. I did a lot of research on scopes and figured Burris was the way to go. I have other Burris scopes that were torqued the same with out issues.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I purchased this for an HK91 in hopes of saving money for a higher end scope. After mounting and sighting in I'm so pleased with the accuracy at all magnification's and the clarity that I won't need that higher end scope. It stand's up great under the heavy semi auto 308 recoil and the eye relief helps with quick target acquisition.
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOOKS GOOD AS EXPECTED The Burris MSR 3-9×40 scope I just purchased looks like a great product as I expected. I haven't installed it on my firearm yet (thats why only 4 stars instead of 5) however, the glass is really clear and it looks to be just as rugged and dependable as my previous Burris products I have purchased.
Date published: 2019-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Clear Scope I purchased this scope for a new Ruger Predator 6 MM Creedmore. I was very surprized in clearity. By far is it clearer than my Nikons and Vortexs. I will surely purchase another. Also the Creedmore shoots 5 shot groups of .90 with factory ammo.
Date published: 2019-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features for a reasonable cost I bought this scope about a month ago, it was easy to mount but I have not been able to get to the range to get it sighted in or would probably give it five stars.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great scope Easy to zero. Great sight picture & reticle. Mounted with PEPR with QD returns to zero within 0.5 MOA as advfertised. I love it.
Date published: 2015-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great scope with clear optics. Priced right. Will purchase more of this model.only negative the finish seams to scuff easily.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic lenses and wonderful features great tool I bought this scope about a month ago and finally went to the range and it was fantastic.
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very bright and clear Sighted in a matter of minutes. Bought to shoot squirrels and it does that excellent!
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great optics Was an excellent scope for the price, Love the turrent adjust
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Scope Nice wide field of view, very clear, easy to deal with.
Date published: 2017-09-24
  • y_2020, m_1, d_16, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_130, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_burrisoptics

I have recently purchased a MSR .223 item #200195. I would like to put lens caps on it. can you please tell me a model or size that I could use for ordering caps?

Asked by: john watz
Butler Creek sizes 15 and 11 should fit that scope.
Answered by: Burris Support
Date published: 2018-03-13

Do the MSR scope turrets have a zero stop ?

Asked by: KTP1
They do not. They feature a collar that can be reset to show zero, but not a true zero stop.
Answered by: Burris Support
Date published: 2018-03-09

What size lens cap covers will fit th 3-9×40?

Asked by: Grizzly_Adam
It should be Butler Creek sizes 25 and 13.
Answered by: Burris Support
Date published: 2018-03-05

Does Burris have a ARD for the MRS scope 4.5x14x 42? if so what model so I can order one. thank you

Asked by: Bear71
Unfortunately we do not make one for that optic.
Answered by: Burris Support
Date published: 2018-01-17

Do you make a sunshade for this model?

Asked by: 455sd
We do not.
Answered by: Burris Support
Date published: 2018-01-16

using this scope on z 8mm mauser rifle shooting a 170 grain soft point Federal ammunition know this is set up for .223 have it sighted in at 100 yrds ,don't have a 200 yrd range unsure how much drop I will have at 200 yrds

Asked by: scottyra
https://ballistics.burrisoptics.com/reticle-analysis#:1
Answered by: TeamBurris4
Date published: 2017-12-26

Does the MSR only come with the Ballistic Plex Reticle or could you get another reticle? I don't like not being able to hold for precise windage...

Asked by: Riley
That's the only reticle for the MSR. May I suggest the Fullfield E1 4.5-14? That might have a reticle for you.
Answered by: TeamBurris2
Date published: 2017-11-30

I have a customer looking for a 4x14x40 optic in a gloss black finish. does burris have anything that would fit his request? if so could you give item numbers to them so I can look them up for him. thank you.

Asked by: Marksmens Guns LLC
Hi! Almost everything we make now is matte finish black. No gloss.
Answered by: TeamBurris2
Date published: 2017-11-30

Does this scope have a zero stop ?

Asked by: Bpolley6
That scope does not have a true zero stop, but it will have a zero collar.
Answered by: Burris Support
Date published: 2017-11-01

Can I get a custom turret and custom reticle to the round I'm shooting out of my M-15 for the MSR scope ? If not what scope could I get with a custom elevation turret that has RFP?

Asked by: Snipolley
https://ballistics.burrisoptics.com/custom-knobs#:1
Answered by: Burris Support
Date published: 2017-10-05

I am planning to buy a Bolt action .22 cal rifle for competition and hunting. I will be shooting mostly on 50 m to 100 m mark and possibly to 120 m. Is the MRS 4.5-14x42 scope best for this rifle or should I take the FullField II 4.5-14x42 scope ?

Asked by: ED 22 Rifle
Functionally the two scope are identical. You will get improved turrets on the MSR.
Answered by: Burris Support
Date published: 2017-07-26

Im looking at your Burris 200195 MSR 223. The elevation turret has a calibrated dial but the windage turret does not. I know that you offer a custom calibrated elevation turret. Can I also get a custom calibrated windage turret?

Asked by: firstshot
We currently only make customer elevation dials.
Answered by: Team Burris 3
Date published: 2017-05-23

Hi, I am aware that any affordable scope will be at least partially made overseas (glass). I am interested in the MSR 3-9x40 200137. How much of this product is USA made? I have done an insane amount of research on which scope will finish my Colt AR15 and

Asked by: sandpapersoul
This scope is made in our facility in the Philippines.
Answered by: TeamBurris2
Date published: 2017-09-17

Would this scope hold up on a .300 win mag.?

Asked by: shawnshawn
Yes.
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2017-01-28

I love this scope but the magnification adjustment is a little stiff and not very easy to keep my grip on. Any suggestions for a magnification throw lever that would fit?

Asked by: DaveS
http://www.3gunstuff.com/?page_id=702
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2016-10-12

Are lens covers included with this scope?

Asked by: JohnA
Lens covers are included with the Veracity, XTR II and Eliminator models, but not this one.
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2016-10-03

I have a savage 111 long range hunter 300 win mag and I am looking at the MSR Riflescope 4.5-14x42mm. Would this be a good scope for this rifle?

Asked by: Gotts20
Yes it would.
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2017-01-28

Can the reticle marks be matched to a different caliber and bullet weight?

Asked by: Cf45
http://ballistics.burrisoptics.com/reticle-analysis
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2016-08-18

I am looking for a dedicated scope for bench shooting. I have a CZ 455 varmint in .17 HMR I will mostly be shooting 100yards. I want at least a 12x with excellent eye relief. MSR Riflescope™ 4.5-14x42mm your best option?

Asked by: mvestudio
The MSR is definitely a suitable option, however the Fullfield E1 may offer slightly better clarity and the side parallax adjustment will be a benefit.
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2016-08-12

Will this scope hold up to the recoil of a 450 bushmaster on an ar-15?

Asked by: Robster
Yes. All Burris scopes, sights, and mounts are tested to withstand up to .50 BMG recoil
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2016-08-06

I have a DPMS-type 308 AR. Does this reticle work with the 308 (matched with a custom 308 turret), or would I be better served with the AR 7.62 and swap the reticle out for the BDC? I prefer to have both a preset elevation turret AND a reticle if needed.

Asked by: BrandonK
The custom caps are available for both scopes for $50, and the ballistic reticle can be matched to any cartridge you choose by using our Ballistics Calculator, located here: http://ballistics.burrisoptics.com/
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2016-07-19

What does MSR stand for?

Asked by: Thom
Modern Sporting Rifle (scope)
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2018-11-05

Just bought my MSR 4.5-14x42...I LOVE IT...sort-of...seems to me like I run out of LEFT wind-age adjustment WAY before RIGHT...I have centered it the best way I know how..but just bore sighting it I run out of left...am I doing something wrong????? 

Asked by: Alejandro
Typically, we find that it is best to mount the scope and boresight it without making major adjustments to the turrets. Having significantly more adjustment in one direction typically indicates that the scope is not mounted parallel to the bore, and I would recommend centering the adjustments and remounting the scope.
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2016-05-13

Will this model scope focus down to 50ft?

Asked by: Chuck D
No, the shortest Parallax setting is 50 yards. However, the Timberline 4.5-14x32mm has adjustable parallax down to only 7 yards
Answered by: BurrisOptics1
Date published: 2016-05-02

I want to mount a 3 x 9 x 40 mm Fullfield II scope to a DPMS LR 308 flat top rifle. Which rings should I use?

Asked by: Beetle 308
I would recommend a PEPR Mount for the AR platform rifle. http://www.burrisoptics.com/ar-p.e.p.r.-scope-mount
Answered by: Burris Tech Support
Date published: 2016-04-22

Would this be a good scope for a browning 7 mag?

Asked by: Scotty The Body
It would definitely be a good match for a 7mm Mag.
Answered by: Burris Tech Support
Date published: 2016-04-22

At the risk of asking a silly question; is the MSR 200137 suitable for use on an AR-10/LR-308 platform other than the BDC is calibrated for .223/5.56NATO? Will it handle the heavier recoil for the life of the scope?

Asked by: jm190
Yes, I asked a silly question. If you look at the construction of the other Burris 3-9X40mm scopes they are very similar other than turrets and reticles. Why would a manufacturer make something less substantial for one particular class of rifle. I bought two; one for my AR-15 and one for my LR-308 and haven't had any issues yet! See review!
Answered by: jm190
Date published: 2015-12-11

Parallax free at what range?

Asked by: JonB
100 yards
Answered by: BurrisCustomerService
Date published: 2015-11-06

Why is it that in pictures next to 200136 and 200137, some display target style elevation knobs while others don't? What model number do I order to ensure that I get the target style elevation knob?

Asked by: airtight_python
The MSR riflescope comes standard with finger adjustable knobs.
Answered by: BurrisCustomerService
Date published: 2015-09-10

I cant find the papers that came with my scope .now I don't know if I can rezero the knobs or what..i m not sure of the yardage marks on the plex either

Asked by: jimd
Contact Technical Services and they can e-mail you a users guide. 888-228-7747
Answered by: BurrisCustomerService
Date published: 2016-01-26
  • y_2020, m_1, d_16, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_130, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_burrisoptics
Search Close

Search form